THE STATE OF TEXAS

COUNTY OF ARANSAS

§



COMMISSIONERS' COURT

ORDER #O-15-2020

to impose an optional \$1.50 Child Safety Fee to vehicle registrations within Aransas County

WHEREAS, Texas counties recognize the importance of furnishing and/or supporting local services and programs that provide or enhance child safety; and

WHEREAS, Chapter 502 of the Texas Transportation Code provides counties the option of imposing an additional fee, in an amount not to exceed \$1.50, on vehicles registered in Aransas County to be used for the provision of child safety measures; and further, that the generated funds must be used to provide school crossing services, with any remaining balance to be used towards other child safety, health, or nutrition, including child abuse intervention and prevention, and drug and alcohol abuse prevention; and

WHEREAS, Aransas County Independent School District relies heavily on the Aransas County Sheriff's Department to provide school crossing guard services and traffic assistance at Live Oak Elementary—an essential service to the community but one that also taxes department resources; and

WHEREAS, imposition of a new \$1.50 Child Safety Fee on vehicle registration would generate about \$39,000 per year (based on 2019 registration numbers) that could specifically help defray the cost of this service and any related administrative costs.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED BY THE COMMISSIONERS' COURT of ARANSAS COUNTY, TEXAS, that pursuant to Chapter 502 of the Texas Transportation Code, a \$1.50 Child Safety Fee shall be imposed from this point forward, effective January 1, 2021, on the registration of any motor vehicle in Aransas County, to defray the costs of this necessary additional service by the Aransas County Sheriff's Department for the safety and well-being of elementary school children in Aransas County.

DULY ORDERED BY VOTE of the Aransas County Commissioners' Court on the 31st day of August 2020.

C.H. "BUR" JR., County Judge

Commissioner Pct. 1

S SMITH, Commissioner Pct. 3

LESLIE CASTERLINE, Commissioner Pc

WENDY LAUBACH, Commissioner Pct. 4

WAI ERIE K. AMASON, County Clerk